Topic: Hand Profiling on Bassoon Cane

Hello,

Nowsaday, Is there someone still use hand profiling their cane instead of use machine?

Those machine listed in Miller Marketing made me more confusing. I quite confused about Pre gouged machine and Gouged machine. Is that both of them still the same function? Gouged machine is too expensive. Pre gouged machine is cheaper a lot. Can pre gouged machine going to replace gouged machine in future.

How about the different profiling machine an tip profiling machine?

Sorry for such question. Because I'm still new to those reed making machine.

thks

Re: Hand Profiling on Bassoon Cane

a pregouger will never replace a gouging machine, the pregouger is a devise that allows you to save the sharpness of your gouge blade doing SOME of the gouging process. (less work also)
The profiler makes the gouged cane into a gouged and profiled cane (gp) in other hand the tip profiler help you to "scrape" some material just in the tip, it gives you a reed ready to make the final adjustments.

Hope this helps, and sorry about my "funny" grammar.

Last edited by jbarrera (2008-04-27 22:47:04)

I don't think there are too many who still hand profile.  I can remember trying it when I first started making reeds and before I owned a profiler.  I believe the former prof at the University of Michigan, Richard Beene, purposely hand profiled.  I am not sure how many of his students do this.

Dr. Kent Moore
Principal Lecturer In Bassoon and Theory
Northern Arizona University

Do you think easier the process by hand profiling. Is that precise enough.

thks