Topic: Newbie Ques: Start with baroque?

I'm seriously thinking about taking up playing the oboe.
I've no experience at all. I want to learn to play a musical instrument and just love the sound of the oboe, especially the baroque oboe d'amore.

My question therefore is: Is it feasible to start with this instrument right away or would it be better to first learn on a modern instrument?
I'm especially concerned about finding a teacher. (I'm situated in Vienna)

I'm not bothered about hard work or a long beginners period. Mostly I want to do it for the learning experience.

All comments are welcome.

Re: Newbie Ques: Start with baroque?

Thanks for the informative reply!

Christopher Brodersen wrote:

If I understand you correctly, your ultimate goal is to play (Baroque) oboe d'amore.

Well, my ultimate goal is to learn an instrument I like to listen to. Since I'm not very experienced, I'm not fixed on one particular type.
It just happens that with my current knowledge I like the baroque oboe d'amore.

In my opinion it's much easier to start out on the soprano Baroque oboe. Intonation can be quite challenging on the Baroque oboe d'amore--it's better to get a feel for response, overblowing to the second octave, etc., on the regular soprano Baroque oboe.

My reasoning was that if I one day will play a oboe tuned differently, it will be hard to change because I'm used to the fingering of the soprano.
But from your explanations it seems the smaller challenge compared to the difficulty of intonation.