Topic: Bocal recommendations for Amati 41 bassoon?

Hello all.  I just got a used Amati ABN41JS bassoon. (Yes, I know about them, but frankly, it's a huge upgrade from my plastic "student" bassoon.)  It came with an unbranded bocal with a "1" stamped on it.  I'm no expert, but it seems to play fine - maybe a little sharp overall - but my biggest complaint is that it's bent down too far, so I'd like to replace it with something a little more horizontal. 

Does anyone have experience matching a better bocal to an Amati bassoon? I'm hoping to keep this under $400, and I'm willing to buy used.

Re: Bocal recommendations for Amati 41 bassoon?

See if you can find a Fox #3 length double star bocal from before the R2 series was introduced. Used for under $400 should be fairly easy for a fine upgrade.

I say a #3 because you have what is likely equal to a Fox #2 length bocal already with that Amati 1.

Not sure what new Yamaha bocals are running for these days. They could also fit your bill. Used certainly would be within your budget. Go with a #2 length if you go that route.

I can't say what specific types to try from those brands, as I don't know what your bassoon is designed like. Just try as many as you can.

M.M.A., D.M.A. University of Illinois at Urbana/Champaign: B.Mus. Lawrence University
Bassoon professor at University of Wisconsin Eau-Claire
Maker of the Little-Jake electric bassoon pickup and Weasel bassoon reeds

Thanks Trent.  That all sounds great.  I see that you're at MMI.  Have you tried the Wolf Grundmann bocals?  I've been doing a little research on those, and it sounds like I might enjoy one - I tend to hold the bassoon a little more vertically than most.

They would certainly help you hold the bassoon more vertically!

Brand new they're a bit over your $400 budget. If you want to talk more in depth about them give me a call during the business day and we can discuss them in more detail. I don't want to get too "work" on the forum.