Topic: Evolution of Fox professional bassoons

I'm a reasonably competent amateur who is considering upgrading from my 1980-vintage sugar maple Fox 201.  It's a nice instrument and very responsive, but the tone is a bit thin (especially compared to my teacher's Walter) and I am hoping I can find something easier to play in tune.  (Probably a Fox, for the same reason that I keep buying Hondas.)  I play in a variety of groups (quintets, orchestras, bands) as both first and second so I would like as much flexibility as possible, but ideally a more powerful sound without sacrificing intonation.  That said, I don't think I'm ready to invest the $30,000 or so that a new top-of-the-line Fox costs.  I have seen a fair number of 601s from the 1990s for around half of that, which is more affordable.  How would these compare to the newest instruments, and mine?  I know Fox has continued to modify the design, for example the high-resonance finish, but I don't have a sense of how much difference these would make, or how big of an improvement over my 201 I can expect.

(I realize that I can't actually be certain about this without trying instruments, but since this is likely to involve some significant shipping costs I'd like to do some research first.)

Re: Evolution of Fox professional bassoons

Painting with a broad brush, you will find that newer Fox instruments have more resonant sound than ones from the '80s.

The 601 will have a different feel and different pitch tendencies from your 201. You will probably find the 601's low E and D in better tune (not as sharp) than the 201. You may find that your 201's highest range speaks easier. Etc.

Of course, you'll want to look at the condition of the instrument(s) in question.

There is a lot to say for 601s from the 1990s.