Topic: teaching private students

Just curious as to how you handle your studios--
How do you recruit students?
How many do you teach?
What age do you prefer?
Do you have recitals?
What type of material do you focus on?
Do your students seem to end up in a similar range of abilities or is there a wide range?
And, if there is any other information you wish to share I'd love to hear that as well.

I've been teaching for several years now and my studio seems to have suddenly gotten very large. I enjoy it, but I'm just looking for some other perspectives on teaching students.

Thanks so much!

Re: teaching private students

Recruiting - Reputation and I am on the private teacher listing in the local school system
Studio size - Currently 5 - could handle 8 but prefer not with my busy schedule
Ages - Elementary through High School (never tried an adult, not sure I'd want to)
Recitals - never have, never really wanted to organize one
Materials - Fundamentals.  All students work in Weissenborn, scale studies to build up speed, and a solo for fun
                (or festival/contest depending on the time of year)
Ability level - Most students gravitate to a level of ability depending on how much time they want to put into their
                    studies.  I have a 13 year old playing for 2 years that is far better than a 16 year old I teach
                    playing for 4 years.  I know how much each practice by their progression each week.  I give the
                    parents progress reports each time I see them.

By the way, I teach bassoon.

Bryan Cavitt
Bassoonist, Elkhart (IN) Municipal Band; Bassoon Dad

kkiene wrote:

Just curious as to how you handle your studios--
How do you recruit students?
How many do you teach?
What age do you prefer?
Do you have recitals?
What type of material do you focus on?
Do your students seem to end up in a similar range of abilities or is there a wide range?