Topic: Cracking reeds

Greetings!

I am a college student in Ohio where the weather is less than predictable.  My reeds have been fine this season, only surface cracks, but my students have been haveing horrible problems.  Both my students have just started this year and come to lessons with Jones and La Voz reeds from the local music store.  I figured that these would work well enough until I figured out a good place for them to buy quality reeds since I barely have time to make my own.  However, almost every week one of them, or both, come in with huge cracks down the blade.  One even looked like a bite had been taken out of the side.  I have asked my students if they have fallen been smashed, anything I could think of that would cause this but they claim to have just found their reeds like that.  I suggested this week to keep orange peels in their cases near their reeds to humidify the air and I have yet to see if this will do anything.  I just wanted to know if anyone else has had this sort of problems with these companies or store bought reeds in general and what you did the aliviate the problem.

Also if by chance if there is anyone here near Wooster who sells student strength reeds, that would be even better.

Fay

Re: Cracking reeds