Topic: Hummel Bassoon Concerto

Hi I'm new to IDRS.  A friend convinced me to sign up and said the forums were great. 

I have been practicing the Hummel Concerto for a while now and I was wondering if anyone could offer any suggestions on the passage with the octave slurs towards the end of the first movement.  Ive tried playing it in groups, playing the bottom notes only, and I have also alternated between playing the notes short-long, short long, short long, and vice versa.  Any suggestions would be great! Thank you.

Rudy Munoz
University of Texas at El Paso, student

Re: Hummel Bassoon Concerto

Try using three 32th note triplets and one eighth note in a pattern and then reversing this pattern, both articulated and slurred. Do it slowly, and then let it "cook" and then return to the regular patterns you have been using. This  should help. Let me know how it goes.

Last edited by Vincent Ellin (2007-08-20 10:24:08)

Are you using trick fingerings?  Most bassoonists I know use false fingerings for the upper octaves for most of that passage.

M.M.A., D.M.A. University of Illinois at Urbana/Champaign: B.Mus. Lawrence University
Bassoon professor at University of Wisconsin Eau-Claire
Maker of the Little-Jake electric bassoon pickup and Weasel bassoon reeds

Trent wrote:

Are you using trick fingerings?  Most bassoonists I know use false fingerings for the upper octaves for most of that passage.

Excuse my o.c.d, but these two phrases have bugged me for years.  Who or what are you trying to "trick" with a fingering?  The audience?  The bassoon?  The reed?   Same goes for "false" fingerings.  If it's a "false" fingering, then wouldn't it give you a wrong note?  I would think a DMA candidate would know these things....Now if you want to talk about alternate fingerings, that would be another matter.  Cooper/Toplansky have rarely failed me with alternate fingerings.