Topic: Saint-Saens sonata

I was wondering if anyone has an alternate fingering for m.15 in the second movement of the Saint-Saens bassoon sonata. This is the high G A B G E thing... Its just awkward for my smaller hands, often the second G gets lost if the B is in tune. Slowly its fine, but I'm having a hard time getting it up to tempo. Or do I just have to practice it even more? smile

(I have to say I thought when I started playing it that I would end up asking about the super high E, but its coming along nicely, just have to slur it still.... I'm sure someone out there was wondering...)

Thanks very much for any help you can give.

Alexis Janners.

Re: Saint-Saens sonata

Hi Alexis:

I am sorry I don't have any "fake" fingerings to offer you but I do have an inspirational story.  Back when David McGill and I were high school students we were talking about this same passage.  I said "that part is hard."  He nonchalantly said, "No, it's not."  It got me thinking that if he found it easy, there must be a way and so I practiced it harder to get it and really thought about what my hands/fingers were doing.  It was a valuable lesson for me even if he didn't intend that.  Good luck with it.  Kent

Dr. Kent Moore
Principal Lecturer In Bassoon and Theory
Northern Arizona University

I think this is just one of those spots that you just have to work out.  It's a very hard lick (I guess I'll have to disagree with Mr. McGill on that one!), and we all struggle with it.  I use my normal fingerings for that passage.  The only thing that I do that might be different than normal or others is that I play high B without the low Eb key, but I do use the Eb key on the E (my teacher is the opposite for those two notes for his horn).