Topic: An Ideal Practice Schedule for an Amateur Bassoonist. Suggestions?

I would like some help on two issues:

A- What would be an ideal practice schedule for an amateur bassoon player with one hour a day available who would like to have fun on the process?

When I work with scales, my reading gets better, my technique (fingering) too. It does not help with my speed though.
When I work on etudes, it seems my reading is also helped, and also the technique, but I am afraid I'm not doing what I was supposed to.
Long notes and sonority work is a torture.  I was catch myself ending up doing a whole hours of either only scales, or just the etudes.
I've been playing more seriously for the last 3 years.

B- How do I brake my reed-making adiction?  I also get into the trap of jeopardizing playing time for reed making.  I have more good reeds already for at least an year and a half.  Should I declare an year moratorium in reed making?

Thanks for your widom,
Mike

Re: An Ideal Practice Schedule for an Amateur Bassoonist. Suggestions?

Ah, the reed making addiction. Destroyer of homes and families, robber of sanity and rationality, consomer of disproportionate amounts of ones time and life. It sounds as though you may already be beyond help. And, it just gets worse. You buy new tools so you have to make more reeds to use the tools. Trying new cane? More reeds to test the latest crop.  A new book on reed making or visit to a previously unvisited reed maker's web site. More reeds to be made to test out newly acquired wisdom.

Mike, your only hope is to do what I did. Get good enough at making them so you can sell them. Its the only way out.

Gene Carter, Owner
Linden Reeds

Why did I feel it was coming?

Gene, your posts are awesome, although it does make me feel in a RMA (Reeds Makers Anonimous) meeting!