Topic: LI(arch30)aud CincinnatiSym Tchaikovsky5(2ndhalf) SunAug27, 2:45pmET

LIVE(I'll post the 30 day archive afterward) audio on Sunday August 27, 2:45pm Eastern 1145am Pacific
7:45pm London, 20h45 Central Europe here:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/player/bbc_radio_three

Prom 58: Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra and Louis Langrée
Royal Albert Hall
This Proms debut performance by the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra opens with Bernstein’s On The Waterfront. Copland’s Lincoln Portrait pays homage to one of the nation’s heroes, while Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 5 offers a statement of nationalism.
Programme
Leonard Bernstein
On the Waterfront – symphonic suite(22 mins)
Aaron Copland
Lincoln Portrait(15 mins)
INTERVAL
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Symphony No 5 in E minor(45 mins)

Share

Re: LI(arch30)aud CincinnatiSym Tchaikovsky5(2ndhalf) SunAug27, 2:45pmET

Lon Bussell plays principal oboe on the first half, and Dwight Parry plays Tchaikovsky 5.  On the bassoon side, I am not sure, but I think Bill Winstead plays the Tchaikovsky...
https://www.bbc.co.uk/events/eq35v2/pla … v/b092jwtc

Share