Double Reed Online

The latest news and event announcements from around the double reed world.

The Musical Arts Quintet (MAQ), resident faculty wind quintet in the Ball
State University School of Music, has been awarded a 2010 American
Masterpieces: Chamber Music grant from the National Endowment for the Arts.
The grant award is to support the MAQ in performances, educational
activities, a tour throughout the state of Indiana during fall 2010 and
spring 2011, and a recording of American quintet repertoire, to be released
on the Beneficence label. The quintet will perform and record works by
composers Bruce Adolphe, Samuel Barber, Amy Beach, Jenni Brandon, Jennifer
Higdon, David Maslanka, George Rochberg and Steven Stucky.

Current members of the MAQ are Mihoko Watanabe, flute; Johanna Cox, oboe;
Elizabeth Crawford, clarinet; Keith Sweger, bassoon; and Gene Berger, horn.
For more information concerning the MAQ, please go to

Comments are closed.