Fernand Gillet-Hugo Fox Competition

The Fernand Gillet-Hugo Fox Competition (dedicated to the memory of the late master oboist and honorary member of the IDRS, Fernand Gillet, and to the memory of master bassoonist Hugo Fox, principal bassoonist of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra from 1922-1949) is for bassoonists and oboists who have not reached their 31st birthday by the date of the final round of the competition.

The 2020 Gillet-Fox competition is for bassoon and will take place June 23-27, 2020 at the University of Iowa School of Music, Iowa City, USA. Entries for the 2020 competition will be accepted online from January 1 to March 15, 2020. Full competition information is available for download on the link below.

If an applicant for the Gillet-Fox or Norma Hooks Young Artist Competition lives in a country where COVID-19 is a serious threat and health officials are urging them to stay indoors, with written consent from the Gillet-Fox or Norma Hooks Young Artist Competition chairs, recordings can be submitted without piano accompaniment.

2020 Fernand Gillet-Hugo Fox Competition for Bassoon Preliminary Judges:

  • Kaitlyn Cameron, 2nd Bassoon and Contrabassoon, Gothenburg Symphony (Sweden)
  • Nancy Goeres, Co-principal Bassoon, Pittsburgh Symphony (USA) Amy Pollard, University of Georgia (USA)
  • Amy Pollard, University of Georgia (USA)
  • Christopher Schaub, Principal Bassoon, Thailand Philharmonic Orchestra and Mahidol University (Thailand)
  • Adam Trussel, Contrabassoon, Houston Symphony (USA)

Final Round Judges for 2019 Gillet-Fox Competition for Oboe:

  • John Dee, Professor of Oboe and Endowed Professor of Music Performance; University of Illinois; USA
  • Celeste Johnson Frehner, Associate Professor of Oboe, University of Missouri-Kansas City, USA
  • Mary Lynch, Principal Oboe, Seattle Symphony Orchestra; Faculty, University of Washington, USA
  • Francesco Quaranta, Principal Oboe, “I Pomeriggi Musicali” Orchestra; Principal Oboe, Orchestra Cantelli of Milan, Italy
  • Eric Speller, Solo Oboe, Antwerp Symphony Orchestra; Professor, Bruxelles Royal Conservatoire, Belgium

The Gillet-Fox Oboe finalists (in alphabetical order) are:

  • Johans Camacho, Venezuela. Studies at Universität Mozarteum Salzburg with Stefan Schilli.
  • Joshua Lauretig, USA. Second oboe, Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra. Studied with Richard Woodhams.
  • Ming Liu, China. Studies at the Shanghai Conservatory of Music with Minghong Sun.
  • Ji Yeon Noh, South Korea. Studies at Korea National University of Arts with Ingo Goritzki and Misung Lee.
  • Joana Soares, Portugal. Studies at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et Danse de Paris with David Walter and Nora Cismondi.
  • Alternate: Matt Lengas, USA. Studies at The University of Texas at Austin with Andrew Parker.

Gillet-Fox Bassoon Contact:
Albie Micklich, Chair
E-mail: micklich@idrs.org

Applications will open in January 2020.

2020 Fernand Gillet-Hugo Fox Bassoon Competition Repertoire

Repertoire for the preliminary round:

1. Giovanni Antonio Bertoli*
Sonata No. 7 (entire piece) (TrevCo Music Publishing)

2. Heitor Villa-Lobos
Ciranda das Sete Notas (Peer Music)

*Special note about Giovanni Antonio Bertoli’s Sonata settima (required piece for the Gillet-Fox International Competition 2020).

This piece was selected to allow both the bassoonist and keyboardist (harpsichord, organ, or piano) to free themselves from the printed page: they can create their own articulations, ornaments, dynamics, aesthetic and, in some cases, a realized figured bass.

Understanding the challenges that might arise from this decision, the 2020 Gillet-Fox Bassoon Competition has a readily-available and cost effective realized keyboard part for each competitor. However, competitors and keyboardists are free to consult and/or use the manuscript facsimile of this sonata or Lorenzo Girodo’s complete Compositioni musicali found on imslp.org. Click here to download it.

Repertoire for the final round:

1. Giovanni Antonio Bertoli
Sonata No. 7 (entire piece) (TrevCo Music Publishing)

2. Phillipe Hersant
Niggun for solo bassoon (Durand)

3. Serge Lancen
Sonatine (entire piece, with repeats) (Billaudot)

4. Gioachino Rossini
Concerto for Bassoon (entire piece) (Hofmeister)