Double Reed Online

The latest news and event announcements from around the double reed world.

The following bassoonists will serve as judges for the final round of the 2012 Gillet-Fox Competition for Bassoon this July in Miami, Ohio.

Carolyn Beck (US), University of Redlands

Leonardo Dean (Venezuela), Principal, Simon Bolivar Orchestra

Anders Engström (Sweden), Royal Opera of Stockholm

Leonard Hindell (US), former member of the New York Philharmonic

Karen Pierson (US), Ohio State University

The following bassoonists have been named as finalists (with one alternate) for the 2012 Fernand Gillet-Hugo Fox Bassoon Competition. They will compete in the Final Stage of the Competition in an open concert at the IDRS meeting in Oxford, Ohio, U.S.A. on July 10, 2012.


Bogdan Dumitriu, Principal Bassoon of LaGrange Symphony Orchestra
Student of Ronald Wirt, Constantin Barcov

Ingrid Hagan, Principal Bassoon of the Auckland Symphony Orchestra
Student of Whitney Crockett

Laura Miller, Master of Music Candidate, University of Texas at Austin
Student of Kristin Wolfe Jensen and Michael Ellert

Amanda Swain, Civic Orchestra of Chicago
Student of Christopher Millard, Bill Buchman, Kristin Wolfe Jensen, and J. Jeff Robinson

Katarzyna Zdybel, Principal Bassoon of the Wroclaw Symphony (Poland)
Student of Marc Engelhardt, Zbigniew Pluzek, and Czeslaw


Meryl Summers, Master of Music Candidate, Yale School of Music
Student of Frank Morelli, Gustavo Nuñez, Lewis Kirk, Christopher
Millard, David Seidel, and Bill Buchman

We are sincerely grateful to our panel of distinguished judges whose time and expertise helped make the 2012 competition possible:

Christian Davidsson
Principal Bassoon, Royal Opera, Stockholm

Steven Dibner
Associate Principal, San Francisco Symphony

Wendy Holdaway
Principal, Orquesta Sinfónica Nacional, Mexico City

Julia Lockhart
Principal, Vancouver Symphony

Adrian Morejon
Faculty, Boston Conservatory; Sospiro Winds

We are pleased to announce the finalists for the 2012 Young Artist Competition for Oboe, in alphabetical order: Chi Yuen Cheng (Hong Kong), Julia DeRosa (USA), and Juri Schmahl (Germany), with Gretchen Myers (USA) selected as an alternate. These finalists were chosen from a strong field of 22 applicants representing six countries. The IDRS is grateful for the assistance of the preliminary round judges Joseph Salvalaggio (Canada/USA), Aryn Day Sweeney (USA) and David Walter (France). The final competition will be held on Monday, July 9th at the conference at Miami University in Oxford, Ohio. The judges will be John Dee (University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana, USA), Geralyn Giovannetti (Brigham Young University, USA) and Christopher Redgate (Soloist, England).
Michele Fiala
Chair, IDRS Young Artist Oboe Competition

7th “Henri Tomasi” International Woodwind Quintet Competition will take place Feb 8 – 22, 2013 in Marseille, France and is the only one dedicated to woodwind quintets in the world. Total prized about to 12000€ and will be awarded by an international Jury. All musicians must be under 40, the average age of the quintet must be maximum 35 years-old.

Institut Français des Instruments à vent – Cité de la Musique
4, rue Bernard du Bois – BP 62 042 – 13201 MARSEILLE Cedex 1
Tel.: +33 (0)4 91 39 29 02 – +33 (0)6 23 39 04 73
E-mail :


20-22 April 2012 in STRASBOURG / France

This competition is organised as part of the 7th International Bassoon Festival
of the French “Association Bassons.”
Application deadline: March 1, 2012

Download the program:

Congratulations to everyone who entered the ADRA 2011 Double Reed Competition. The finalists selected for the competition are (in alphabetical order by last name):


Chi-Yuen Cheng, Hong Kong
Qing Lin, China
Sun Shih Han, Taiwan
Nieh Yu Hsuan, Taiwan
Yu-Hey Sze, Hong Kong
(Alternate) Pie-Ling Liao, Taiwan


Benjamin Cefkin, United States of America
Jung-Tzu Lin, Taiwan
Laura Miller, United States of America
Vince Ocampo, Phillipines
Shih Min Tang, Taiwan
(Alternate) Ting Yuen Chan, Hong Kong

The alternates will be invited in case that a finalist is unable to play in the final round. 

The tape round judges were:

Christopher Schaub, Professor of Bassoon at Mahidol University (Chair)
Patrawut Punputhaphong, Principal Bassoon of the Thailand Philharmonic
Amy Galbraith, Professor of Oboe at Mahidol University
Keri McCarthy, Professor of Oboe at Washington State University
Hiroshi Matsushima, Professor of Flute at Mahidol University

The final round will take place on August 16, 2011, at the College of Music, Mahidol University, Thailand. For more information about the ADRA, the conference, or the competition, see

The following is the repertoire for the 2012 Gillet-Fox Bassoon Competition to be held during the IDRS Conference at Miami University in July of 2012 in Oxford, Ohio. Applications will be available soon.

  • Johann Friedrich Fasch: Sonata in C major, Masters Music or Editio Musica Budapest), entire work, all repeats
  • Paul Jeanjean: Prelude et scherzo (Leduc or Masters, ossia is permissible)
  • George Perle: BassoonMusic (E.C. Schirmer)
  • Franz Berwald: Concert Piece, op. 2 (Barenreiter; for the competition finals only)

Contact Peter Kolkay, Chair, for more information:
Telephone: (803) 777-3121

The following is the repertoire for the 2012 Young Artist Oboe Competition to be held during the IDRS Conference at Miami University in July of 2012 in Oxford, Ohio. Applications will be available soon.

  • Vivaldi Concerto in a minor, RV 461 (edition of performer’s choice)
  • Bozza Fantasie Pastorale
  • Hindemith Sonata, Movement Two
  • Paul Reade Aspects of a Landscape for Solo Oboe

Contact Michele Fiala, Chair, for more information:
Telephone: (740) 593-1625

  • First Prize:
    Emmanuel Laville
    Principal Oboe Royal Scottish National Orchestra
    Student of Stefan Schilli, David Walter, Jacques Tys
  • Second Prize:
    Elizabeth Priestly Siffert
    Principal Oboe Houston Grand Opera and Ballet
    Student of Richard Killmer, Robert Atherholt, Robin Hough and Denise Zoch
    Honorable Mentions:

  • Jung Choi
    Assistant Principal Oboist Korean Symphony Orchestra
    Student of Richard Killmer, Yunjung Lee, Su Keum Kim and Jongduk Kim
  • Erica Cice
    Charlotte Symphony Orchestra
    Student of Louis Rosenblatt, Richard Woodhams and Wayne Rapier
  • Risa Soejima
    Staatliche Hochschule fur Musik und Darstellende Kunst Stuttgart
    Student of Christian Schmitt

Congratulations to our 2011 Young Artist Bassoon Competition Winners:

  • 1st place: Axel Benoit (France)
    Student of Carlo Colombo at Le Conservatoire national supérieur musique et danse de Lyon
  • 2nd place: Ananta Díaz (Venezuala)
    Former student of Leonardo Dean, Filiberto Nuñez, Geronis Bravo and Henning Trog
  • 3rd place: R. Conrad Cornelison (USA)
    Student of Patricia Rogers at The Juilliard School. Former teachers include Eric Stomberg, Matthew Schuler and Dan Duncan
  • Alternate:
    Stephen Duncan (USA)
    Student of Doug Spaniol at Butler University. Former teachers include Michael Dicker, Bill Buchman and David Oyen.

    The IDRS is extremely grateful to our panel of distinguished final round judges: Judith Farmer, Lecolian Washington and Andrea Zucco. The preliminary round judges were Whitney Crockett, Carlo Colombo and Lynn Hileman. The chair of the Young Artist Competition is Saxton Rose.

    We also wish to express our thanks to all competition entrants, and current/former teachers for their participation in the 2011 Young Artist Competition.