Double Reed Online

The latest news and event announcements from around the double reed world.

On behalf of the 2015 Fernand Gillet-Hugo Fox Competition Committee, I am pleased to announce the finalists for this year’s competition:

Bunkichi Arakawa, JAPAN
Student of Sholo Ikeda, Tomoyuki Hirota, Satoki Aoyama, Yoshiaki Obata

Stuart Breczinski, USA
Student of Jacqueline Leclair, Humbert Lucarelli, Mark Weiger, John Snow, Rachel Brudnoy

Andrew Kawai, AUSTRALIA
Student of Seng Tong and Jeffrey Crellin

Sergio Sanchez, VENEZUELA
Student of Marcos Tarazona, Hermes Nunes, Victor Morales, Ricardo Riveiro, Diethelm Jonas, David Walter and Jacques Tys

Huijing Xu, CHINA
Student of Dun Zhu, Lu Tang, Christian Schmitt, Francois Leleux

Matt Lengas, USA
Student of Andera Gross Hixon, Richard Killmer, Robert Atherholt

Theophile Hartz, SWEDEN
Student of Jean Louis Capezzali, Jérome Guichard, Thomas Indermühle, Christian Schmitt

The finalists will compete at the IDRS Conference on August 18 in Tokyo. The winner will perform the Concerto for Oboe by Eugene Goossens on the final concert and receive a cash prize of $10,000 US.

The Members of the Gillet-Fox Oboe Committee and the IDRS Executive Committee are deeply appreciative of the time, effort and expertise of the judging panel.

Robert Atherholt. Rice University, Shepherd School of Music; former principal oboe Houston Symphony

Sarah Francis. Professor and Fellow of the Royal College of Music
Oboist and Director of the London Harpsichord Ensemble

Anne Gilby. Monash University’s School of Music-Conservatorium. Past President of the Australasian Double Reed Society

Laszlo Hadady. Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris

Marion Kuszyk. Associate Principal Oboe, Los Angeles Philharmonic, University of Southern California

Margaret Marco, Chair IDRS Fernand Gillet-Hugo Fox Oboe Competition

Leave a Reply