Double Reed Online

The latest news and event announcements from around the double reed world.

FEMUSC – Festival de Musica de Santa Catarina, in partnership with Oboé Brasil,
is pleased and honored to present the first CONOB – International Oboe Competition of Santa Catarina.

The International Oboe Competition of Santa Catarina – CONOB is open to oboists up to 30 years of age, born in a Latin American or Caribbean country. CONOB will be held on January 26th and 27th, 2011 in the city of Jaraguá do Sul, Santa Catarina, Braz il.

CONOB will be divided into two categories, each containing two stages:
– Junior Level: candidates with up to 18 years of age.
– Superior Level: for candidates with up to 30 years of age.

Candidates may arrive in Jaragua do Sul, Santa Catarina, on the premises of SCAR – Sociedade de Cultura Artística, as of January 24th but no later than 1pm on January 25th. All applicants will receive accommodation and food (3 meals a day) for as long as they are involved in activities related to CONOB. Candidates should not FEMUSC participants from lodging in the morning of January 28th. Candidates not approved for performance in the Final Stage will also be allowed to stay in the dormitories and meal plan until the morning of January 28th.

Each candidate will be offered a practice room and individual study time of at least two hours per day from January 24th until the end of their performances in CONOB. Candidates selected to the final stage may use the practice rooms for three hours daily.

Piano accompanists are available to applicants with limited time of 30 minutes of rehearsal for the preliminary stage and 45 minutes for the final round. The limited rehearsal time with piano accompanists applies to both categories of CONOB. Applicants must adhere strictly to their re hearsal schedules arranged with the piano accompanists, and there will be no possibility of rescheduling for time lost due to delay in rehearsals of candidates.

Candidates may use piano accompanists of their own choosing, and bring them to Jaraguá do Sul for this purpose at no cost to CONOB.

The order of presentation of candidates will be determined by lottery on January 25th at 1pm, and this order will be maintained throughout the contest. Candidates who are not present for this lottery will be immediately eliminated from the competition.

All CONOB performances are open to the public, and the results of the competition will be announced immediately after the conclusion of the presentation of candidates and determination of CONOB’s Artistic Commission.

The Artistic Commission (panel of judges) will c onsist of four professional musicians and a Chairman, which at the end of deliberations will announce the results of their deliberation. The Artistic Commission’s decision is final and irrevocable. Candidates are denied contact with the Artistic Commission on matters related to CONOB during the event, or to act in a way that will affect the decision of the same, under penalty of elimination from the competition.


CONOB offers the following awards:

Superior Level:
First Prize: R$1,200 (twelve hundred) reais.
Second Prize: R$ 800 (eight hundred) reais.
Third Prize: R$ 500 (five hundred) reais.
Honorable Mention: R$ 300 (three hundred) reais.
Best Pianist Collaborator: R$ 500 (five hundred) reais.

Junior Level:
First Prize: R$ 700 (seven hundred) reais.
Second Prize: R$ 500 (five hundred) reais.
Third Prize: R$ 300 (three hundred) reias.
Honorable Mention: R$ 150 (one hundred fifty) reias.
Best Pianist Contributor: R$ 300 (three hundred) reias.

The Artistic Commission shall retain the discretion and responsibility to decide how many awards will be presented, and to combine a major awards with the Honorable Mention, if desired. The Artistic Commission retains the option of not awar ding all the prizes listed here.


Superior Level:
Preliminary Stage

Amilcare Ponchielli (1834-1886), Capriccio for Oboe and Piano.

Final Stage

1) J. S. Bach (1685-1750), Partita for Solo Oboe, BWV 1013 in G minor or A minor. One movement of the candidate’s choice.

2) W. A. Mozart (1756-1791), Concerto for Oboe and Orchestra in C major, KV314. Movement 1: Allegro Aperto (with cade nza). This work should be performed from memory.

3) José Siqueira (1940), Three Studies for Oboe and Piano

Junior Level:
Preliminary Stage

Stanislas Verroust (1814-1863), Capriccio for Oboe and Piano, Op. 15 (cut: it is not necessary to present the section called “Andantino”).

Final Stage:

1) G. F. Handel (1685-1759), Sonata in G minor for oboe. Movements 1 and 2.

2) Joseph Haydn (1732-1809), Concerto for oboe and orchestra. Movement 1, with cadenza. This work should be performed from memory.

3) Osvaldo Lacerda (1927), Variations on “Carneirinho-Carneirão”

* If you encounter difficulty in finding some of the works above, candidates may request instructions to locate copies of works by writing directly to This service is available only to candidates already admitted to CONOB. However, interested parties can view the first page of these works on the FEMUSC website.

Application procedure

Candidates must register for CONOB through the site between September 25th and November 1st, 2010. To validate your application, all items in the registration form must be completed. Applicants accepted for participation will be confirmed by November 10th or earlier. A registration fee of R$120.00 (one hundred and twenty reais) will be charged to (the) participants selected for participation. In the case of (a) participant already enrolled in FEMUSC 2011 and attending the event, registration to CONOB will be R$ 60 (sixty) reais. This fee covers the cost of simple accommodation, meals, use of practice rooms for study and rehearsal, piano accompanists, documentation and certificate. Payment of registration fee should be made through bank deposit in Banco do Brasil (for Brazilians) or by credit card. You will receive the payment information after enrollment.

Leave a Reply