|       
Beginning Bassoon methods

The IDRS Forum is an archived resource. Some boards will remain open for discussions. Visit the Marketplace to list items for sale, or the Community Events and Openings page to list and search job openings, community shared events, and educational openings. Visit the IDRS Fingering page to search and suggest fingerings.

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Home Forums Pedagogy Teaching – General: Solutions, Question, Tips Beginning Bassoon methods

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Jim Fellows
    Participant

I have never been quite happy with what I have been using for absolute beginners (with no experience on another instrument). It generally includes the Rubank Beginning for a bit (but it always seems to go too high too soon), then piece-in Weissenborn and a few other snippets of my own until the student is better established. I know there are a few new bassoon methods out, but generally haven’t had that many students that I have started from square-one, so I haven’t looked into them. Any suggestions?

Jim Fellows

Neville Forsythe
    Participant

Hi Jim

I have cut & pasted from a reply to an Australian graduate’s survey on Bassoon teaching regarding my first tutor of choice – “The Young Bassoonist” which I use with my own fingering chart (another matter altogether). I will send you a PDF to your email address.

A few details about The Young Bassoonist.

It is clearly laid out with fairly large staves / notes. No fingerings are offered.

Each tune is accompanied by a smaller preliminary c. 2.5 cm long stave with the new notes or intervals.

Tune 1 is Suo-Gan (1st version) using EDC 4/4

Tune 2 is Au Clair de la Lune (Extending downwards to BAG) 4/4

Tune 3 is Song of the Crib (same range) 3/4

All 3 use crotchets and minims and slurs. (repeats are also presented along with simple dynamics p pp mf mp although I encourage a full strong supported tone to start with).