|       
I guess it was finally my turn…

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Home Forums Instruments and Tools Instrument Questions I guess it was finally my turn…

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Dean Williams
    Participant

I started playing bassoon in 1976, and during all of this time, I have never had this problem. I came close a few times, in fact I have come far too close for comfort on more than one occasion, but in the end I always managed to save the situation.
    Until last night.
    Last night, after a practice session I was cleaning my bassoon (as usual), and I…. got my swab stuck in my wing joint. It ain’t coming out. I’m bringing it in to the shop today, but I was just wondering how you all deal with this.

Anonymous

Swab extractor –

http://www.mmimports.com/xcart/swab-extractor-eh.html

This is an EH extractor, but I bet if you call and talk to Trent, he can come up with one for bassoon.

Paul.F
    Participant

See “Stuck Swabs in Bassoon Wing Joints” by Chip Owen of Fox:
    http://www.foxproducts.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=62&Itemid=17

I followed this myself one time when a swab got stuck. Removing the swab from the bocal receiver one tiny piece at a time was slow, tedious work and required a lot of patience. But it worked and, most importantly, did no damage to the instrument.

Paul

Chad Taylor
    Participant

The first and foremost thing to remember is if it gets, stuck. DO NO1 try to continue to pull it out the rest of the way with force. Itll only get jammed even further, and take more work to remove it. Generally, I can go in with a steel rod that I have threads on, and pull it out from the bottom of the wing joint. If it is REALLY stuck, then it becomes a much bigger job.