Donations  |       
Dança de Lisboa (World Premiere)
Shannon Lowe, bassoon
M. Brent Williams and Sophia Han, violins
Matthew Diekman, viola
Daniel Ketter, cello
with Mark Foley, double bass

I first heard Alexis Ciesla's music at the 2018 ICA ClarinetFest. His piece featured clarinet soloist Phillippe Berrod and the Brussels Philharmonic. The music was so engaging that I felt compelled to seek out Alexis and asked if he would write a piece for bassoon and string quintet. He agreed and wrote the piece “Dança de Lisboa” which was inspired by Portuguese “Fado” music. It showcases the vocal-like quality of the bassoon through the passionate style of Fado, yet, with dance-like interchanges throughout.
Back to Video Collection