Donations  |       
Two Sonatas by French Baroque Composers: A Discussion and Performance
Margaret Marco, oboe
Elisa Williams Bickers, harpsichord
Hannah Collins, cello

I will introduce Sonate II by Jacques-Christophe Huguenet (1680-1729) and Sonata II in D Major by Elizabeth Claude Jacquet de la Guerre (1665-1729). Both sonatas were written for violin; however, they are perfectly suited to the oboe and are ideal alternatives to the German and Italian works that many oboists perform. I will share my recordings of these works and background information on the composers and a brief introduction to French baroque performance practice. De la Guerre's works are published by Furore-Edition and edited by Carol Henry Bates. Huguenet’s sonatas are not published in modern edition and are accessible only through the Bibliothèque Nationale in Paris.
Back to Video Collection